Project Quilting: Season Five, Challenge One

The second challenge series that I am working on is Project Quilting. For these biweekly challenges I have a week to create a quilted project (not necessarily a quilt) from start to finish, followed by a week off. I can create whatever I want as long I stick to the guidelines of that particular challenge, which are posted at the start of the challenge week. The idea is to think outside the square. This week’s challenge was String Along with Me; projects had to be created entirely out of strings (where a string is defined as a strip of fabric no more than 2.5 inches wide).

Since this was the first Project Quilting challenge I have attempted, I worked towards a less ambitious goal than I otherwise might have attempted without a time limit. My primary goal was to finish the project within the week. I had initially thought I might make a coaster with a quilted background and appliqué something of myself onto it. However, it turns out that my stash of fabrics did not have the colours and textures that I had planned in my head, and I didn’t have the time to go shopping for just the right fabrics. (I just wanted to jump right into the challenge). While searching for inspiration I came across a lovely pattern that I knew would make a fabulous Christmas present for a specific special person. I even had the fabrics in the colours I wanted.

In the end I made four coasters (about 3.5″ x 4″) and a hot pad/trivet (about 9.5″ x 10.75″). Since I have to give my project a title, I chose “Off to Grandma’s House” because the colours have a bit of a Little Red Riding Hood feel to it, and grandmas are notorious for hosting tea parties (or something like that). The colours in the picture are brighter than in real life.

This whole project took me about four hours, and I had it finished on Tuesday night (the challenge deadline isn’t until Sunday at noon). I’m  happy with how it turned out, and I’m pleased to already have a Christmas present crossed off my list. For the next challenge I might be a little more ambitious.

