At the beginning of the month, I made a goal to complete the quilt top for a lap/baby quilt I had been planning on making for the Lovely Year of Finishes January challenge. I blew that goal out of the water, and completed the whole quilt. (Ignore the cat shadow in the photo and the wrinkles in the quilt–it has already been well loved by the boys, and makes a surprisingly good rope for tug-of-war).

Image

I bought a new free motion quilting sewing foot and got to try it out. I’m not particularly good with it yet, but I just need more practice; it was definitely easier making the circles with the free motion foot than with the regular presser foot and feed dogs. I backed the quilt with a super soft minky fabric, and the quilted circles look pretty neat on the backside.

Image

I didn’t get to use the butterfly fabric that I had always planned to use on a baby quilt if I ever have a little girl (the minky fabric fit so much better with this quilt!), so IF this baby is a girl there will likely be another quilt for her in the future. I’m happy with how it turned out in the end (there were times during the process that I was less happy with how it was going), and I really enjoyed the time to unstress while I worked on it this month. I’m looking forward to doing a simpler goal in February.

