Project Quilting: April Off Season Challenge This month’s Project Quilting challenge was to use the colours in Kim’s patchwork calendar quilt (posted on the challenge website) that match up with my birthday as the main colours for my quilt. My two colours were a royal purple and a bright light blue. These colours also just happened to match up with my thoughts for a good wedding present for a close friend who was married in December. This is what I came up with: DSC_0294 I tried out a couple of new techniques for this quilt (since that’s what Project Quilting is all about for me). The Love Knot is a reverse appliqué (new to me–I LOVE how it turned out and will definitely be using it again for this type of design). To quilt the chain I copied the design onto tissue paper (the kind you put in gift bags), quilted it onto the quilt, and then tore away the tissue paper. It worked much better than I expected and was much less expensive than buying rag vellum tracing paper for drafting (the closest thing to real quilting paper that I could find locally). The tissue paper didn’t move at all (I taped it down with Target’s version of Scotch tape, which is much stickier than actual Scotch tape), and most of it tore away really easily. The few pieces that stuck in the quilting were quickly and easily removed with tweezers. Hopefully my friend will enjoy this one. I put a lot of love into making it.

